CLAT 2020 Notification: Important dates and related information

The Common Law Admission Test or as it is commonly referred to, ‘CLAT’ is the main exam for admission in any of the 21 National Law Universities. The exam is conducted annually and after the coming in of a secretariat for NLUs', a permanent website has taken over for the better management of the exam. Earlier, CLAT was conducted on a rotational basis by the National Law Universities (NLUs). However, from 2019, the exam is being organized by the Consortium of National Law Universities and it is being conducted by NLU, Odisha.

In the previous few years, many controversies came forth because of the exam being conducted online and these were power cuts, failure to log-in the system, slow biometric verification, blank screens, hanging of the computer systems, server shutdown, etc. To tackle these, a decision was taken in the 4th meeting of NLU Consortium in NLSIU, Bangalore that from 2019, the CLAT exam will be conducted offline . However, if the number of students appearing for the exam increases substantially, then the exam may again go back to being online.

CLAT 2020 Important Dates
Date of Notification December 2019
Online Application Second week January, 2020
Last date of submission Second week of April, 2020
Issue of Admit Card Third week of April, 2020
CLAT Exam Date May, 2020
CLAT Exam time 3.00-5.00 pm
Uploading of Answer Key Last week of May 2020
Result and Rank List Last week of June, 2020
Counseling and seat allotment First week of July, 2020
Payment of CLAT Counseling Fee June, 2020 - July, 2020
CLAT 2020 Important Facts
Name of the Exam Common Law Admission Test
Exam Type Undergraduate & Postgraduate
Exam Level National
Exam Mode Offline
Exam Duration 120 minutes
Conducting Authority National Law University, Odisha
Total number of participating institutes All NLU’s except National Law University-Delhi
Total number of seats Approximately 2420

For more information students can visit the CLAT official site:

Telegram Group